Have you ever wondered how all those Wikipedia articles get produced… you know, the ones you pull up on your phone to look up an actor, an author, or a recipe, or a historical or scientific fact? Unfortunately, one of the Consent Factory staff had an opportunity to find out […]

Reddit administrators’ decision to “quarantine” r/The_Donald, a subreddit forum for fans of President Trump and Reddit’s largest conservative community, is a recent and egregious example of social media sites meddling in political affairs. It’s no secret that Silicon Valley is overwhelmingly left wing. For every $1 that employees at the […]

The multi-tabbed, multi-screen, multi-channeled, multi-media prism through which we currently experience the world is already wreaking havoc with our ability to think clearly. The constant competition between signals clawing for attention erodes our ‘working memory’  -  the neural architecture associated with our capacity for controlled attention and complex reasoning. Increasingly […]

Relying on the corporate media, including BBC News, to provide a reliable account of the world is literally a matter of life or death, on many levels. Imagine, for example, a Russian dissident living in the UK who had published copious evidence of Russian war crimes, and who had then […]

In the information age, propaganda has become one of the most powerful forces in the world. And political factions, legacy news outlets, and special interest groups looking to manipulate societies to their will use propaganda’s various tactics to advance their goals.   Yet, if we can manage to understand the […]